Word of the Day: vojnik


Serbian word: војник / vojnik
English translation: soldier
Gender: masculine
Use in sentence: Budi ti hrabar kao vojniku.


Translate Kids Books

Fun way for the family to learn together:

In this video, I share 3 children’s books that I translated. For my family this approach is very useful. For me, who knows quite a bit of Serbian, it challenges my knowledge, and I learn things that I don’t know when translating. My husband who does not know any Serbian reads the books to the kids and they build their vocabulary together.

Start with very simple and basic books that are repetitive. I found Eric Carle books and scholastic books to be great to translate and learn/teach from.

This sheet Book translation from video contains all the words and sentences in each book that I share on the video.

* FYI, just a reminder, I am not an expert in the Serbian language. So, some of the content may be wrong. The purpose of this blog is for my family and I, to first and foremost, learn Serbian, and the best way to do that is to share what and how we learn. Tx.

Lesson 1, Part B: the Latin Alphabet

In this video we learn the latin form of the alphabet, called abeceda in Serbian. Please note, the order of the Cyrillic alphabet is different for the order of the Latin alphabet.  This alphabet order sheet shows both orders, as well as the cursive Cyrillic form.

Once you get the alphabet down, reading is quite simple. The Serbian language is phonetic, meaning it reads the way it is spelt. So, master the alphabet and start reading. To help build your vocabulary here is a list of 20+ words to get you started.

GAJ, sello Yugoslavia 1963 OK The Latin order was created by a Croatian linguist and politician, Ljudevit Gaj (1809-1872).

Lesson 1, Part A: the Cyrillic Alphabet

In this lesson, we are learning the Serbian alphabet in cyrillic. There are 30 letters in the Serbian alphabet. (I should warn you there are a few letters that I have trouble with).  The order of the Cyrillic alphabet is called azbuka (азбука). For sheets that show the order of the Serbian alphabet in cyrillic, the latin, and the cyrillic form in cursive, Click here.

Vuk Stefanovic Karadzic Developed the Cyrillic Alphabet
Vuk Stefanovic Karadzic
Developed the Cyrillic Alphabet

We can thank Vuk Stefanovic Karadzic for bring us the current form of the cyrillic alphabet. Vuk Stefanovaic Karadzic lived from November 6, 1787, to February 6, 1864. He was born in Trsic, Serbia. After serving in war against the Turks, Karadzic, went to Vienna where he spent the remainder of his life. While there, he collected Serbian poems, songs, tales, and other literature that eventually led to him reforming Serbian grammar and alphabet. He introduced 6 new letters to the alphabet to accompany sounds without letter association. He also eliminated 18 letters that no longer served any use in the Serbian language. In 1868, the Serbian government finally recognized and accept Karadzic’s reformed alphabet.

Karadzic also wrote a Serbian dictionary, “Serbian Folk Poems”, a book on Serbian proverbs.

From the Encyclopaedia Britannica, http://www.britannica.com.