How Serbs Celebrate Halloween

Want to get spooked in Serbian? Join me for “7 Days of Noc Vestica”. Plus, get 24 FREE Halloween themed flashcards.

I love Halloween! But, I haven’t always enjoyed it as much as I do now. It wasn’t until I had kids that I really got into Halloween. We live in the U.S. and it’s a big thing here. There is trick or treat, trunk or treat, Halloween parties and events galore! The candy is out of control. I can’t believe how much candy my kids get. And how much I end up eating. Ugh. But it tastes so goooood. My favorite part is the costumes. I am such a DIY person. I just love coming up with the ideas of what we will be, then making the costume, and finally dressing up!

Oh yes, this blog is about How Serbs Celebrate Halloween.

I’ve never been to Serbia on October 31st, but I’ve learned they do celebrated Halloween there much the same way we do here in the U.S.  It’s called Noc Vestica, which translates to Night of the Witch. Noc Vestica has only just begun in the Balkan region and is gaining popularity with the younger generations. They dress up, carve pumpkins, have costume parties and hand out candy to trick or treaters.

I thought I’d add some Serbian flavor to Halloween this year by hosting a “7 Days of Noc Vestica” on the Tongue Talk Serbia Facebook page starting Tuesday, October 24th. I’ll share spooky Serbian Mythology, creepy places in Serbia, DIY Halloween decorations that are in Serbian,  Serbian Halloween videos and songs, recipes and much more. So make sure to follow me on Facebook.

And to build up that vocabulary I’ve created 24 FREE Halloween themed flashcards! YES. Print them now! Your Halloween Latin version and Halloween Cyrillic version.

See you on Facebook for “7 Days of Noc Vestica”!

 

Author: alex mundt

I love to learn and share my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

