Book Review, “Da Li Sam Ja Mala?”

A Serbian-English children’s book about self acceptance. A book review by Tongue Talk Serbia and a 6 year old.

THE AUTHOR: “Da Li Sam Ja Mala?” is one of many books written by Phillip Winterberg. He writes children’s books about topics related to friendship, mindfulness, and happiness.

SYNOPSIS: “Da Li Sam Ja Mala?” is about a little girl  named Tamia, who is on a mission to discover how others see her. What she finds is how she sees herself.

It is a story about size and perspective. Each character Tamia talks to sees her from a different point of view. To some she is small, to others big. But what does she see for herself? Read it and find out!

BENEFITS OF THE STORY: Author Phillipp Winterberg’s  book, “Da Li Sam Ja Mala?” is short and simple, yet packed with so much. It is a great starter book to introduce reading. My 6 year old could easily read the Serbian (Latin) and English text. My kids are just starting to build their Serbian vocabulary and have recently learned the Latin and Cyrillic alphabets so, for my 6 year old to be able to read the Latin text was very exciting.

Plus, I love the message. It is a wonderful way to teach kids that one will be seen through many different eye and thus many different opinions, but what matters most is how we see ourselves.

ILLUSTRATIONS: The illustrations by Nadja Wichmann are what drew me to this book. They are bright, whimsical, and truly make this book. One can really take their time exploring the illustrations to see how they tell the story.

BOOK REVIEW BY A 6 YEAR OLD: My 6 year old had a Book Review Showing at her school and she chose to write her review on “Am I Small?” a.k.a. “Da Li Sam Ja Mala?” I regret not taking a picture of her at the showing. Anyhow…

img_1229

Here is her take on the book:

What is your favorite book? My favorite book is “Am I Small?”. In the book there is this girl. She asks creatures if she is small and some creatures say she is small and some creatures say she is big. For example there is a turtle. He says, “You are big.” Also there is a yellow monster. He says “You are teeny weeny.” You can get this book at a book fair. You should read this book before bed. I recommend this book for everybody. I like this book because it is written in Serbian and English. I give this book 5 stars. I think “Am I Small?” is the best book.

Just so you know the book is NOT available at a book fair, but you can get it on Amazon, which is were I purchased it.

INTERVIEW 6 YEAR OLD:  I pressed my daughter Cora, for some more thoughts on the book, so we set up a mini interview (which was really fun)  and this is what she had to say (there are spoilers):

Me: I noticed you rated your book a 5. Is that the best it could be?

Cora: Yes, 5 is the best number. Because it helps you learn another language.

Me: What is your favorite part of the book?

Cora: She keeps asking more questions. Because when she ask more questions, she get more answers, then she can solve all of her problems.

Me: What do you think is the overall message of the book?

Cora: The littler the animal,the bigger she is.

Me: So you think its about perspective?

Cora: Yes.

Me: What do you think about the illustrations?

Cora: They help you understand what is going on in the story. They are beautiful colors of Spring. I like the heart shaped faces.

Me: What do you think the illustrator is trying to say with the heart shaped faces?

Cora: I love you. I love you mom or dad.

Me: What else do you think about the pictures?

Cora: I don’t always know what things are. This looks like a foot (page 10-11). But feet don’t have eyeballs.

Me: It could be a dinosaur.

Cora: It could be.

Me: So what do you think about the last page of the book?

Cora: She is everything. She loves herself.

MORE ABOUT THE BOOK: My version of this book is bilingual English-Serbian, however it is available in 100 + languages including German, French, English, Croatian, Montenegrin, Japanese, Russian and in other bilingual combinations as well, which I find to be totally cool! You can get it as a hardcopy, softcopy, e-book, or free for kindle.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the book.

Here  is another Serbian children’s book I’ve reviewed. Want to hear about more Serbian children’s books? Follow my blog to stay connect so you don’t miss out on the next book review.

Tongue Talk Serbia is a participant in the Amazon Service LLC Associated Program, an affiliated sites program designed to provide a means for sites to earn fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Author: alex mundt

I love to learn and share my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

