How to Make Palaćinke

What is palacinke? Palacinke is a Serbian pancake. They are very thin and flat pancakes, much like a crepe. The recipe is very simple and delicious!

What is palacinke? Palacinke is a Serbian pancake. They are very thin and flat pancakes that you fill, then roll up or fold to eat. It’s pretty much a crepe.They are so delicious. My 15 month old son gobbles them up!

Growing up palacinke was one of my favorite dishes! Mom would make it all the time. I would eat it with ground nuts, jelly, and sometimes sugar. But, really you can fill it with anything you want.

My mother gave me the recipe for Palacinke years ago. But just to challenge myself, I translated the recipe from a old recipe book given to me by my Teti. It’s called, “Novi Univerzalni Veliki Kuvar”. The cook book is written entirely in Cyrillic. In the recipe that follows, I added some detail to the instructions to make it clear and easy to follow.

This tasty Serbian dish is so easy to make. There are only 5 ingredients. Well, 4 really.

palacinke ingredients
Introduction to palacinke, the Serbian pancake.

Just mix all the ingredients except for the oil, until it makes a runny batter. FYI: you don’t have to use coconut oil. Shortening and butter work just as well. My mom uses shortening. I like the coconut oil because it has the same consistency as shortening, but it is much healthier.

Runny Batter
Introduction to palacinke, the Serbian pancake.

Make sure the pan is hot before you add the batter. It takes just few minutes per side.

Now that you know how to make palacinke, make sure to follow my blog so that you get the next recipe post about some great fillings for palacinke that I’ll be sharing on September 2!

Just in case you are wondering, the recipe my mother gave me is pretty much the same as the one I translated.

Ziveli!

Palacinke

  • Servings: 10-12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A Serbian pancake for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert.

Credit: “Нови Универзални Велики Ковар” од Младинска књига

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • 3 eggs
  • pinch of salt
  • coconut oil

Directions

Sift the flour. Slowly add the milk. Whisk in eggs, one at a time, then add the salt. Whisk until the batter is runny.

In a non-stick pan, over medium-high heat, melt butter, shortening, or coconut oil. Make sure it covers the entire bottom of the pan. In the hot pan add 1/4 cup of the batter. Lift the pan and swirl the batter around until it completely covers the bottom of the pan. When the underside is brown, flip the palacinke. Each side takes about 2 minutes to brown.

Place the palacinke on a warm serving platter, or plate. Add your desired filling, roll up, and eat!


Author: alex mundt

I love to learn and share my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

